Review: The Selection, Book 5: The Crown

  • Title: The Crown
  • Age Range: YA
  • Series: The Selection (Book 5)
  • Hardcover: 288
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 3, 2016)
  • Publication Date: May 3, 2016

 

Back Cover Description:

    In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

    Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

 

What I thought:

3 out of 5 bookworms

I read the first 4 books, so I am no stranger to the world of The Selection.  This book is advertised as a romance novel, and I do not believe that boys would have much interest in it.  That being said, despite the theme of the book, there really is not any romance.  The first three books of the Selection were engaging and amusing, but this one was less so.  There are also the political issues of Illea and how Eadlyn manages them as she prepares for her role as queen.  Unfortunately, Kiera Cass doesn’t really go in depth with the political issues or the romance.  The book is written in a way that doesn’t really move the story forward and there are some plot twists that seem to be placed in the book just for the sake of the twist, and without any foreshadowing.

I really do enjoy Kiera’s work in the earlier books of the Selection, but this one is not quite up to par for the series.  I would like to advise Christian parents that this book does endorse the LGBTQ beliefs and present that worldview as acceptable.  To non-Christians who are reading this, I would like to clarify as I have before: I am not a homophobe.  Simply because I think that being gay is morally wrong does NOT mean that I hate anyone. I have good friends who are gay, and though I believe wholeheartedly that what they are doing is wrong, I still love them, the person, even though I disagree with their actions.

On the whole, I enjoy the author’s previous work much better, and though I’m glad that I read it (for the sake of completing the series), I don’t think that I will be reading this book again.

With a flashlight under the covers,

Molly

 

Leave a Reply

