The Top Ten List

I think I have 10 favorite books/series.  I don’t know.  I’m not going to pick my ten favorite books just to fill the list.  There might be 7, there might be 13.  I don’t know yet.  The following books are not on the list in any particular order, and I will do more detailed reviews later.

  1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling.  Sorry, but this is a no-brainer.  I re-read these every summer, racing my self of previous years to see how many days it takes.
  2. The Ashtown Burials series by N.D. Wilson.  Sounds sinister, but N.D. Wilson is a Christian author, and I assure you his books are anything but dark.  Hard to believe for you HP fans out there (including myself), but I might even like Wilson’s work more than Rowling’s.  Some scenes in the Harry Potter books get a bit monotonous my seventeenth time through, but Wilson’s writing is fresh every time.
  3. The 100 Cupboards series (also) by N.D. Wilson.  These books by Wilson also captivate.  I wish I could reveal more, but I don’t want to ruin anything.  Wilson has a gift for creating believable worlds that I want to live in, and unpredictable plot twists that make me an emotional wreck.  His characters are believable and full of life.
  4.  Leepike Ridge (again) by N.D. Wilson.  Notice a bit of a trend.  I absolutely LOVE N.D. Wilson.  Magnificent story about a boy who gets sucked by a creek under a mountain, treasure-hunters, a step-fiancé, a journey under a mountain, crazy berry, crawdads, an old dog named Argus, and a bed.
  5. The Mysterious Benedict Society series by Trenton Lee Stewart.  These books are perfect. Four children with special talents pass a series of unusual tests and are recruited by a narcoleptic old man to save the world and stop The Emergency.
  6. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians/Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan.  I knew a bit of Greek mythology before I read these.  But the way Riordan twists myth and modern world into an educational page turner is amazing.  The Percy Jackson books and the Heroes of Olympus books are actually two separate series of 5 books each, but Heroes is a continuation of the other.
  7. The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson. By another Christian author, 4 great books with an exciting plot and lots of humor, not to mention animals like the fearsome toothy cows, quill-diggles, cave blats, meeps, chorkneys, and toothy hounds.  The story also includes the Fangs of Dang, Peet the sock man, ridgerunners, and the lost jewels of the shining isle of Anniera.
  8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.  C.S. Lewis is a great Christian author whose books were what got me hooked on reading.  There are seven, and they focus on a land called Narnia, and though the main characters change from book to book, they are always children.  Must read books for anyone who considers  themselves a reader.

The list ended up totaling only 8, but I am sure that I will think of more later.

 

With a flashlight under the covers,

Molly

 

P.S. If you need a laugh, check out this superb sample of writing: N.D. Wilson’s bio page.  I dare you to keep a straight face.

2 thoughts on “The Top Ten List

  1. A mom says:

    Hey Molly!
    Thank you for doing this blog. I am a Christian mom and always looking for good books for my children. Unfortunately, many of them are innapropriate or lack good plots and my kids get bored. Good luck with your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

